top of page


The Owasco Lake Watershed Management Council is an inter-municipal 501(c)3 nonprofit development corporation with representation from municipalities throughout the Owasco Lake Watershed.


The Mission of the Owasco Lake Watershed Management Council is to coordinate actions for protecting and restoring the health of Owasco Lake and its watershed to ensure that Owasco Lake will serve as a source of public drinking water, a recreational asset, an economic driver, and an important natural resource for the well-being of watershed residents and those who benefit from its protection now and for future generations.

Mission Statement and Performance Measurements


It is the Council’s vision that its membership will eventually be populated by representatives of all of the municipalities within the watershed. As we continue to grow as a Council, we will be able to learn from each other, share ideas, and overcome barriers. Using our collective voices and resources, we will be positioned to obtain grant funding for the implementation of watershed protection projects

Organizational Structure

Employee Handbook


Duties of the council:

  • Actively monitors and evaluates the general health of the waters of Owasco Lake and its watershed and supports targeted research to help identify problem areas

  • Implements projects by partnering with various groups and agencies including, but not limited to, the New York State Department of Environmental Conservation, the Finger Lakes Institute, Owasco Watershed Lake Association, The Nature Conservancy

  • Directs the Watershed Inspection and Protection Division to identify and stop activities within the watershed that may result in a decrease of water quality

  • Strives to provide educational programs that will increase public awareness about the responsible care and protection of the watershed

  • Cayuga County Planning and Economic Development

  • City of Auburn

  • Owasco Watershed Lake Association (OWLA)

  • The Nature Conservancy (TNC)

  • Cayuga County Soil and Water Conservation District (CCSWCD)

  • Tompkins County Soil and Water Conservation District (TCSWCD)

  • New York State Department of Environmental Conservation (NYSDEC)

  • Cayuga County Health Department

  • Cornell Cooperative Extension of Cayuga County

  • Finger Lakes Regional Watershed Alliance (FLRWA)

  • Finger Lakes Land Trust

  • SUNY College of Environmental Science and Forestry (SUNY-ESF)

  • The Owasco Flats Nature Reserve (OFNR)

owasco lake & watershed relationships-07
bottom of page